1962 Captains - Roger Eischens, John Stone, Dean Koster

1962 Captains – Roger Eischens, John Stone, Dean Koster

1962 — Coughlin-Alumni Stadium opens in defeat. Arkansas State beats the home team 9-7 on Sept. 22. The next week Montana State edged SDSU 14-10. On its third try, South Dakota State won in its new confines, beating Augustana 28-7.

1963 — In the largest margin of victory ever on Hobo Day, SDSU pastes the University of South Dakota 61-0 during the Jackrabbits conference championship season.

Eight different ’Rabbits find paydirt with running back Reed Sanderson scoring twice. SDSU outgained USD 516-74.

Gonnerman 1968 portrait

Darwin “Go-Go” Gonnerman

1968 — Conference MVP Darwin “Go-Go” Gonnerman rushes for 177 yards and five touchdowns in a 47-27 win against Augustana. Future SDSU coach Mike Daly was playing safety for the Vikings. “I made about fifteen tackles. I joke I came in at 5-10- and went out at 5-8 because he ran so low,” Daly says.

1968 — Down 20-0 at the half, the Jackrabbits score 21 third-quarter points and add a safety in the fourth quarter to pull out a 23-20 victory over Youngstown State. Gonnerman rushed for two touchdowns, then Bob Bozied’s 33-yard pass to Tom Settje tied the score. Bozied kicked the extra point that gave SDSU its first lead.

P.S. – Admission back then was $3 for reserved seat, $2 for general admission, and 50 cents for grade-school students with an adult.

Comments are closed